Australian 20 Cent Coins: 2001 Centenary of Federation State Series Northern Territory 20c

November 27, 2010

2001 Centenary of Federation 20c Northern Territory

Commemorating the Centenary of Federation in 2001 the coin seen above was issued into circulation. It is the 20 cent piece for Northern Territory, just one of 9 twenty cent coins in the State Series depicting each Australian State and Territory. A series of $1, 50c and 20c designs were released by the Royal Australian Mint commemorating 100 years since Australia's Federation in 1901.

The reverse design is by Year 6 student Lisa Brett from Leanyer Primary School who was the winner of the Royal Australian Mint's student design competition for her state. This was a national competition for primary and secondary school students to design a coin to represent their state or territory, the coins representing the vision and talent of Australia's youth. Abbey's hand drawn design depicts wetlands, the home of the Brolga, seen dancing in the design. It shows hills and open skies, the beauty of the Northern Territory landscape. Her initial's LB have also been included on the design. The obverse is the standard Ian Rank-Broadley effigy of Queen Elizabeth II.

The coin weighs 11.30 grams and is 28.52mm in diameter. It is made form Cupro Nickel, 75% copper and 25% Nickel.

2,100,000 of these coins were issued into circulation but many of these have been put aside by collectors so it's not that common to find one in your change.

3,970 uncirculated coins were issued in 3 coin sets
11,852 uncirculated coins were issued to complete 21,040 20 coin sets

2.985 proof coins were issued in 3 coin sets
10,182 proof coins were issued in complete 13,000 20 coin sets.

Posted by harrisk at November 27, 2010 7:15 AM
Subscribe to our Newsletter

Bookmark and Share