Australian 50 Cent Coins: 2001 Centenary of Federation State Series South Australia 50c

November 15, 2010

Australia 2001 South Australia 50c -State Series

The South Australian 50c coin shown above is a circulation 50c coin in the 2001 State Series for S.A released by the Royal Australian Mint and can be found in your change.

The reverse design features the South Australian Coat of Arms, representing one of 9 states and territories that make up Australia. This Coat of Arms features the State name on an ornate scroll that overlays a collage of symbols of the agricultural and industrial base of which the State was founded. A shield with the State Badge, the Piping Shrike sits upon a grassy mound. Above the shield is a wreath which protrudes four sprigs of the Sturt's Desert Pea, the State's floral emblem

This 50c is the standard 31.51mm dodecagonal coin with plain edging. It is copper nickel weighing 15.55g. In 2001 there were many coins released into circulation commemorating the Centenary of Federation including a one dollar coin, 50c and 20c issues. This is just one in a series of 9 fifty cent coins depicting each state and territory of Australia that were joined together in 1901 at Australia's Federation.

The obverse of this coin is the standard Ian Rank-Broadley effigy of Queen Elizabeth II.

2,400,000 of these coins were issued into circulation.

Mintages of this coin in other sets can be seen below:

4,782 3 coin uncirculated sets
3,625 3 coin proof sets

12,260 2 coins issued for inclusion in 21,040 pre-purchased unc 20 coin sets
10,179 2 coins issued for inclusion in 13,000 pre-purchased proof 20 coin sets

Posted by harrisk at November 15, 2010 6:11 PM
Subscribe to our Newsletter

Bookmark and Share