Australian 5c Die Types

July 1, 2012

One of Australia's top numismatists has just finished a series of informative pages on differentiating the die types of the Australian 5 cent.

Five Cent Die Types

From the very beginning of Australia's decimal history our very first 1966 five cent pieces were struck at 2 different Mint's, our own Royal Australian Mint in Canberra and the Royal Mint in London. In 1981 coins were struck at 3 different mints, the Royal Australian Mint, the Royal Mint in Llantrisant and the Royal Canadian Mint in Winnipeg.

More recently there have been die differences such as the high and low echidna varieties and the large, small and tiny SD, the initials of Stuart Devlin the coins' designer.

All these dies and variations are discussed in great detail on website.
You can also find other informative numismatic articles and numismatic fun on the sandpit's site.

Posted by harrisk at July 1, 2012 5:00 PM
Subscribe to our Newsletter

Bookmark and Share